Back on the life-cycle

We’ll be gone for a few days. My father-in-law is in the process of dying and we’re heading to Florida this afternoon. On the one hand, this totally sucks. The world won’t be as good a place without him. On the other hand, he’s 90. His mind has been as sharp as ever the whole time but his body’s been checking out for a while. I don’t know which way is worse. My mother did it the other way, sort of. Her body was having plenty of trouble but her mind left the building first.  That wasn’t good either. It was pretty horrible as a matter of fact. My father simply up and died all at once. In the middle of laughter, joking and conversation, actually. Those were his favorite things besides food. That was the best way to go, but at 69 it was way too early.

In the end, it goes so fast that it always feels like it’s too soon to lose someone you care about.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by thatsrightnate on June 11, 2008 at 12:14 am

    My friend Bill lost his mother to a 4 year battle with brain cancer a week ago Monday. It was too soon, but expected. My dad was in ill health, but he went suddenly. I don’t know what’s best. We were discussing it at a watering hole Thursday and I told my friend Colleen (whose father was burried on Christmas eve) that at first I thought her dad went in the worst way possible, but now I see it was actually the best way. He had a stroke and lived for another week, just long enough to go home from the hospital and say his good byes to everybody and make his peace. It seemed like the right combination of a sudden death and a chance to tidy up what was important. Not exactly my usual style posting, but something I’ve been thinking about recently.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

