Monthiversary

I almost missed it, due to being attacked by my own sinuses. Haven’t been too functional for a lot of today. But today it was one month since I moved into WordPress. and I had wanted to mark the day. Looks like I just made it.

The platform is wonderful, as everyone has been saying for years now. I’d tried a WordPress blog elsewhere a couple of years and some versions ago, but the spam comments made me give up on it. There seemed to be no way to deal with them other than ineffective filtering or moderating comments and there’s no way I can do that in a timely manner. If people go to the trouble of commenting, I want their comments to show up quickly. Askimet seems to have solved the spam filtering problem extremely well.

One of the first things to do after settling into a new neighborhood is to meet a few of the residents. WordPress makes it easy to find bloggers with similar interests. There are about a gazillion great blogs right here on WordPress, so one is never done looking, but I’ve met some lovely, friendly people. Some of the very first ones were  mdking of WriteChic Press, Meg, who writes Soup Is Not a Finger Food, raford from Blog de Ford, and of course there’s Nate (That’s Right Nate) , who’s like that oddly conservative nephew who you just know will come around in time because his heart’s in the right place.

Since then, I’ve followed links and come across a bunch more excellent ones, some of which  can be found on my blogroll, along with some old friends and must reads that I had linked on my old blog. I still need to  to finish up going through the old blogroll and add links here. Then I’d like to take advantage of the Pages feature and have some photo pages. And then think of some other stuff to do.

All in all, it’s been a very enjoyable first month, blogwise.  I’m not trying to set the world on fire, here. I just enjoy blogging and reading other blogs. I’m glad I decided to try it out here and I want to thank WordPress for all the free goodies and to thank the people here in the neighborhood who’ve dropped in to say hi and make a newcomer feel welcome.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mdking on April 19, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    Dude! (Sorry, my teens are telling stories next to me) I thought you’d been here forever!

    Reply

  2. Posted by raford on April 19, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Happy Monthversary!

    I’m also pretty new on WordPress, but having quality people like you around ensures that I’ll be here and blogging for a long time.

    Reply

  3. Posted by KUT on April 20, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Happy Monthversary! BTW, I definitely dig the picture up top.

    Is that a pic of an Edward Hopper panting?

    Reply

  4. Posted by thatsrightnate on April 20, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Happy Monthversary Auntie! We should take the plastic covers off the furtniture to celebrate.

    Reply

  5. Hey, thank you all! See what I mean. A real nice neighborhood.

    Kut, the pic is part of an old postcard. It’s of the West Side Highway in Manhattan somewhere on the upper west side of Manhattan, where I was born. And although I don’t remember back quite as far as this picture, I do remember when there were still quite a few cars that looked like that on the road – and not as antiques. So that’s why I used it.

    Reply

  6. I have been using blogger for the past 2 years or so and although i haven’t bothered looking at anything more advanced than writing and clicking the post button, i have never had a problem with it. A few people have mentioned wordpress to me but until i need something and find blogger cannot do it, i will stay where i am.
    Congrats on your one month anniversary also.

    Reply

  7. Hi Lucy. I like Blogger, too. I just find this to be quicker for posting pictures and it just seems to work better for me.

    Reply

  8. Posted by soupisnotafingerfood on April 21, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Aw, ZY, thanks for the LUV on your monthiversary! I did not realize I was among your first finds post-migration. That means we were digging into WordPress at about the same time, because I really just started my own blog a month ago.

    I need to get better about cross-posting or ping-backing or whatever it’s called when you reference someone else’s blog in your own. You are good at it. I aspire to emulate you. 🙂

    Cheers!

    PS, Does Nate also have the plastic wrap still on his lampshades, too?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

