Happy Birthday, War!

In all the hubbub connected with dealing with Mr. Yenta’s illness and setting up a new blog I clean forgot to wish the Iraq War a happy fifth birthday.  I’m in shock and awe about how fast time flies.

When it started, my granddaughter was only nine. Even then she was a critical person and she mentioned that she didn’t like George W. one little bit.  I was kind of surprised. I know her parents pretty much never talk about politics. They tend to run from the room when we start in.  So, why did she dislike the president? Because “he’s making us go to war for no reason.” Well, now that she’s fourteen and taking some college prep courses, I get where that came from. She’s just very, very smart and knows a big steaming pile of turd when she sees one. I wonder if we’ll be out of there before she’s out of medical school.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thatsrightnate on March 20, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    I’m sure when she gets older she’ll reallize that W. was right. If we didn’t fight the Iraqis in Iraq, we’d be fighting them in our country. I’m sure she wouldn’t want that anymore than you or I would. Just like James Buchanon was, I know history will look much kinder on George than current pundits do.

    Reply

  2. Posted by zenyenta on March 21, 2008 at 12:06 am

    I’d love to see what history says about this period long after all of us are dead. No time travel yet, though. So sad….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

