Hello WordPress! Hello 3GB!

I’ve been blogging at Blogger for the last several years. Not so much lately, though. It’s been hard to keep up with events, let alone blog about them. That blog turned almost completely political of its own accord as far as I could tell. The unmitigated disaster that has been this decade has caused the merely politically interested to become obsessed, it’s true, but I think that blogs can take on lives of their own. At least I know mine do it.

I’ve started and dropped a couple of other blogs over time. I gave those up, in part, because I found that I was channeling a much sweeter person than I am or would ever want to be. I don’t even know how it happened. I was sole author on those blogs, but gradually I was censoring out all my own snark. They developed their own damned personalities, independent of my intentions. Kinda weird, actually.

Anyway, ZenYenta at Blogger got totally political and my attempts to make it more general didn’t work any better than my attempts to snark it up at those other blogs.

While material abounds, good political blogging these days takes resources. Sex scandals are coming on an hourly basis, the election landscape seems to shift at least a couple of times a day as the economy teeters on the edge of full scale depression. And, of course, Iraq remains the monumental problem it’s been for years. I mean, you gotta have staff, contacts and speed or you better be bitingly funny in times like these.

So, for this new project, I’m bringing ZenYenta along, but rebuilding the whole structure from scratch with an eye to more random content. WordPress lets you import posts from other blogs, including Blogger, but I don’t think I’m going to do that for now. I figure if I repeat myself it’s not so bad if the first place I posted something was in a totally different blog. I’m not calling this one Senior Moments for nothing, you know.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Reply

  2. ZY,

    Thanks for the comment and welcome back to the fray. This is a week where we have seen the defining moment of Bush Administration arrogance – when Cheney was told that most people in America think the war in Iraq was worth it, he just shrugged and said “So?”

    Reply

  3. Posted by zenyenta on March 20, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Sure, he doesn’t care. He’s all set in his lair, somewhere in the underworld, I assume. Not a truly warm man.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

