Barack Obama Elementary School

Ludlum Elementary School in Hempstead, NY might be the first to rename itself for Barack Obama. The students developed a grassroots consensus, brought it to the school board and the board, in another national first, said “Hey, why not?”, and just did it. ┬áThe school is in an almost entirely African American and Latino community. It’s the sort of place where nowadays a little kid crying because he doesn’t want the doctor to give him a shot or something is now being told, “Hush up! Do you think Barack Obama would cry about a thing like that?” and so forth. I spend a workday or so a week in Hempstead and just this past week I had to stop myself from telling two twenty-something young men, “Barack Obama wants you to pull your pants up over your underwear.” I didn’t say it, because I actually didn’t know the two guys and it wasn’t exactly my business, but you can bet they hear it from their Moms.

3 responses to this post.

  1. This post just put a smile on my face. Of COURSE there will be many schools named that. And they’re first. That’s very cool.

    Reply

  2. Posted by writechicpress on December 29, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    These kids will be permanently endowed with the power of the Oh! Ba! Ma! chant.

    Reply

  3. Would like to connect with you

    Great blog, I have my own blog http://www.workguideforwomen.com. I would love to add you to my blog roll and hope you will do the same – let me know your thoughts. I am also part of http://www.ShesConnected.com you should check it out and add your profile, it’s a great way to promote your business and blog.

    I look forward to connecting with you and continuing to read your blog.

    Best,

    Kate

    workguideforwomen@gmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

