Signage

We’ve been away a bit lately, visiting with friends. We’ve been in upstate New York a bit, but mostly in Western Massachusetts.  Western Mass is a good place to be in the Autumn and it’s even better in big election years if you happen to be a Democrat. Along with the gorgeous foliage there are Obama/Biden yard signs lining almost every street, or so it seems. And I’m not sure it’s entirely legal to drive without at least one of their stickers on your car. We were cool. We have a couple on the car.

You don’t see nearly as many political bumper stickers on Long Island, ever, for anyone as you do once you get a little north of NYC. Maybe it’s just too cynical here for that, or maybe people worry about messing up their cars.  We can’t  touch Massachusetts, but we do seem to have more than usual this year. The ones I have seen have been mostly Obama’s.  I’ve only seen one or two for McCain. On the other hand, we have many fewer yard signs than is normal for an election year and the ONLY ones I’ve seen in predominantly white neighborhoods are for McCain.  The polls say that our two counties are going to go heavily for Obama, but I think that people in our white suburbs are a little afraid to advertise that on their homes and I think it’s because they’re afraid of retailiation from unhinged racists.  Maybe there’s not so much to worry about, though, since Obama’s even made inroads into the racist demographic

As encouraging as that is, it’s still going to be a long, long two and a half weeks.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by writechicpress on October 19, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    The longest 2 1/2 weeks ever!

    I’ve got bumper stickers, but no yard sign. I’m surrounded by McCainiacs and don’t want to invite vandalism. And I fully expect my car to be keyed which I can live with.

    Reply

  2. I’m getting cautiously optimistic on the whole election thing. Not that I’m letting myself believe that anything will really change. After Obama voted for the bailout as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

